Home and Hearth PressHome and Hearth Baker Try it free

State Regulations › Vermont

Vermont cottage food law

Selling home-baked goods in Vermont

How home bakers in Vermont can sell what they make: the sales limit, permits, training, where you can sell and the statement your labels must carry. Vermont has 2 ways to operate; each is shown below.

At a glance: Cottage food operation (license-exempt)

Sales limit
Up to $30,000 a year in sales.
License or permit
Yes: Annual licensing exemption filing (not a license).
Food safety training
Yes: Health Dept 'License Exempt Food Processors and Cottage Food Operators Online Training' (free), before starting and every year after.
Online orders
Not addressed by the statute, the Manufactured Food Rule, or Health Dept guidance.
Label statement
“Made in a home kitchen not inspected by the Vermont Department of Health.”

Vermont also has 1 other way to sell, shown below.

About this information. Vermont’s rules are summarized from the latest publicly available state laws, regulations and agency guidance, last checked November 3, 2026. Laws change, and county and city health departments may have their own requirements. This is not legal advice. Before you sell, confirm the rules with your state or local health department.

Cottage food operation (license-exempt)

18 V.S.A. 4301 (cottage food definitions), 4303(a)(7), 4353(a)(3)(C), 4358(b)-(c); Vermont Department of Health Manufactured Food Rule (Chapter 5, Subchapter 1) Sections 4.1.4-4.1.6, 6.1-6.2.2 · Act 42 of 2025 (H.401), signed 2025-06-02, effective 2025-07-01; Manufactured Food Emergency Rules 25-E01 and 25-E02; permanent Manufactured Food Rule (25P033) effective 2026-01-15

Yearly sales limit
$30,000
Gross annual sales of $30,000 or less from the sale of cottage food products (18 V.S.A. 4353(a)(3)(C); Rule 6.1.1.2). Above that, a license is needed. Health Dept: a baker may also make up to $10,000 of other (non-bakery) processed foods under the separate food processor exemption (Rule 6.1.1.1). Not inflation-adjusted.
Permit or registration
Yes
Annual licensing exemption filing (not a license)
Vermont Department of Health, Food & Lodging Program
Fee: No fee stated; exempt operators pay no license fee (Health Dept)
Official page
Food safety training
Yes
Health Dept 'License Exempt Food Processors and Cottage Food Operators Online Training' (free), before starting and every year after (Rule 6.2.2.1)
Where you make it
Solely in the home kitchen of the operator's private residential dwelling, or a kitchen on the operator's personal property (18 V.S.A. 4301; Rule 4.1.5). A rented kitchen, even a licensed commercial kitchen, does not qualify (Health Dept). Keep pets out of the prep area; keep sale food apart from personal and pet food; private well water is tested only for licensed operations (Health Dept)
Selling in person
Allowed; statute and rule set no limits on place (farm stands, farmers markets, events). Not addressed in detail
Phone and online orders
Not addressed by the statute, the Manufactured Food Rule, or Health Dept guidance (rechecked 2026-10-26)
Delivery and shipping
Not addressed by the statute, rule, or Health Dept guidance; the training covers only keeping food in clean, dry, covered containers during transport
Selling out of state
Health Dept: food crossing state lines is interstate commerce subject to federal rules, and the other state's laws may apply; outside this app
Stores and wholesale
Not to restaurants or other licensed food establishments (Health Dept). Whether retail stores count as licensed food establishments is not stated

Examples you can sell

Food that does not require refrigeration or time or temperature control for safety (18 V.S.A. 4301; Rule 4.1.6). Other products may be sent to the Health Dept for a determination (Rule 6.1.2)

  • Nonpotentially hazardous baked goods (bakery products that can be stored at room temperature, Rule 4.1.15)
  • Candy
  • Jams and jellies
  • Dry herbs
  • Trail mix
  • Granola
  • Cereal
  • Mixed nuts
  • Flavored vinegar
  • Popcorn

Not allowed

  • Foods that need refrigeration or time/temperature control for safety (TCS), e.g. meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, cooked plant foods, tofu, raw sprouts, untreated garlic-in-oil (Health Dept)
  • Refrigerated bakery items such as quiche, cheese danish, and cheesecake (Health Dept)
  • Dehydrated meats (Health Dept)
  • Dehydrated fruits and vegetables (Health Dept)
  • Prepared meals sold direct to customers (need a Home Caterer License)
  • Products containing THC (Rule 5.4.1 for licensed processors; not stated for exempt operations)

The statement your labels must carry

Made in a home kitchen not inspected by the Vermont Department of Health.

In type at least 10 point.

Home bakery license

18 V.S.A. 4351 (license required), 4353(a)(3)(B)(I) (home bakery fee); Health Regulations for Food Service Establishments (per Health Dept) · 18 V.S.A. 4353 last amended by Act 42 of 2025, Sec. 4 (fee unchanged at $100)

Yearly sales limit
No state limit
No cap found. Bakers at or under $30,000 a year in cottage foods may use the exemption instead (Health Dept)
Permit or registration
Yes
Home bakery license
Vermont Department of Health, Food & Lodging Program
Fee: $100
Official page
Food safety training
Not addressed for licensed home bakeries
Where you make it
The licensee's domestic home kitchen, using home appliances; the license does not cover other kitchen spaces in or next to the home. Three-compartment wash/rinse/sanitize (a tub may serve as the third), sanitizer test kit, refrigerator thermometer at 41 F or below, no children or pets during prep, private well tested every year for total coliform and E. coli at a certified lab (Health Dept)
Selling in person
Allowed (Health Dept 2019 guide mentions farm stands and farmers markets)
Phone and online orders
Not addressed
Delivery and shipping
Not addressed
Selling out of state
Not addressed; outside this app
Stores and wholesale
Not addressed in current official sources (see open questions)

Examples you can sell

Bread, cakes, muffins, cookies, or other baked goods that do not require refrigeration or temperature control (Health Dept)

  • Bread
  • Cakes
  • Muffins
  • Cookies

Not allowed

  • Baked goods that need refrigeration or temperature control (Health Dept description of the license)
  • Prepared meals (need a Home Caterer License)

Common questions about Vermont’s cottage food law

Can I sell baked goods from home in Vermont?

Yes. Vermont lets home bakers sell food made in their own kitchen in 2 ways: Cottage food operation (license-exempt); Home bakery license. Most baked goods that don’t need refrigeration qualify; see the examples on this page.

Do I need a license or permit to sell baked goods in Vermont?

Cottage food operation (license-exempt): Yes: Annual licensing exemption filing (not a license). Home bakery license: Yes: Home bakery license (fee: $100).

How much can I sell from home in Vermont?

Cottage food operation (license-exempt): Up to $30,000 a year in sales. Home bakery license: The state sets no yearly sales limit.

Do I need food safety training in Vermont?

Cottage food operation (license-exempt): Yes: Health Dept 'License Exempt Food Processors and Cottage Food Operators Online Training' (free), before starting and every year after. Home bakery license: Not addressed for licensed home bakeries.

Can I sell online or ship my baked goods in Vermont?

Cottage food operation (license-exempt): Online and phone orders: Not addressed by the statute, the Manufactured Food Rule, or Health Dept guidance. Delivery and shipping: Not addressed by the statute, rule, or Health Dept guidance; the training covers only keeping food in clean, dry, covered containers during transport. Home bakery license: Online and phone orders: Not addressed. Delivery and shipping: Not addressed.

What must a cottage food label say in Vermont?

Labels must carry this statement: “Made in a home kitchen not inspected by the Vermont Department of Health.”, in type at least 10 point. Most states also require the product name, ingredients in order of weight, allergens, net weight, and your name and address.

Home and Hearth Baker knows Vermont’s rules

The program puts Vermont’s required wording on every label for you, tracks your sales against any yearly limit, and updates for free when the rules change.

Try it free for 30 daysSee what it does

Official sources

  1. Act 42 of 2025 (H.401) As Enacted: exemptions for food manufacturing establishments
  2. 18 V.S.A. 4301 Definitions (current)
  3. 18 V.S.A. 4358 Applicability; licensing exemption filing (current)
  4. 18 V.S.A. 4353 Fees (current, as amended by Act 42)
  5. Vermont Department of Health: Manufactured Food Rule, Final Adopted Rule (effective 2026-01-15)
  6. Manufactured Food Rule 25P033, Final Proposed filing to LCAR (2025-11-07)
  7. Vermont SOS Rules: 25P033 Manufactured Food Rule (adopted)
  8. Vermont SOS Rules: 25-E01 Manufactured Food Emergency Rule
  9. Vermont SOS Rules: 25-E02 Manufactured Food Emergency Rule
  10. 25-E02 Manufactured Food Emergency Rule posting (2025-12-30)
  11. Vermont Department of Health: Home-Based Food Licenses and Exemptions (updated 2026-09-01)
  12. Vermont Department of Health: Home-Based Food Licenses and Exemptions (node)

Nearby states

Join our mailing list

News about Home and Hearth Baker and the book, tips for home bakers, and word when your state changes its Cottage Food regulations. A few emails a year; unsubscribe anytime. More about the list

Email

Choose how you send email: